top of page

If you can't T-Mold, U-mold!

So, some of you may have noticed that my Horizons arcade cab isn't 100% complete. One of the remaining issues is that the T-molding on the side edges of the cabinet has yet to be installed. In my infinite wisdom (back when I built the cab), I did not route in the grooves that are required to install the T-molding. The process is very messy, and not something I would recommend doing to a fully assembled cabinet with the sides painted like the Horizons cab has.

So, what to do? I searched different options like gluing T-molding on without the 'T'-groove, painting or epoxying the edges, or even using something like a rubberized coating (like Flex-Seal). None of those options seemed worthy.

I did some extra searching at T-molding.com, and found an awesome alternative: U-Trim!! It's super-flexible trim that fits over the edge (sizes available are for 1/2", 5/8", and 3/4") with no cutting / drilling required. I went on fairly easily, and so far I have not had a need to nail or glue the trim, as it's maintained adhesion to the cab without any fuss! It's a perfect substitute for T-molding when you can't do it. Check it out here: T-molding.com.


Blog Archives
Hello!!

Hey, my name is Retro Benny!  Enjoy the site, as I always have something new to add!

bottom of page